3-Day Novel Finished

Complete at 37,000 words. There are places where the draft could benefit from being filled out some, or even a great deal. I try to plan these things so they can grow up to be full novels someday, and there’s a lot here that could still be explored.

Still, it feels good to have reached the end of the story for now. I was having my doubts earlier today.

The ending took my completely by surprise, and came quite a bit sooner than expected, which didn’t hurt anything.

I’d also like to thank Dylan Rhymes, whose album Dead Famous has allowed me to survive the last 5 hours. I think it also had a major and hopefully good influence on the tone of my ending.

That’s all for now. Time to rest, eat, and remember my name.

9 responses to “3-Day Novel Finished

  1. Congratulations on writing so much so fast! I remember doing NaNoWriMo years ago, and thought that was an accomplishment. I couldn’t imagine doing this much in three days. It sounds like you’ve done the right planning to keep developing it, and I look forward to hearing about the process more as it goes forward.

  2. Hey, thanks for commenting 🙂 I’m looking forward to when your story collection comes out, and am trying to keep an eye on that. I’ll definitely be getting it when it’s available. 🙂

  3. I had no idea such a contest existed, and I’m very impressed that you finished it. I can’t imagine ever coming up with that many words in such a short period of time. Congrats!

    Now, the word “urban fantasy” conjures up many different images. What do you usually mean by it?

  4. Hi, Ken! I have a thing for these do or die events… I was just thinking about fantasy settings yesterday and have a new definition for urban fantasy as a result (influenced by what the folks over at Beneath Ceaseless Skies have to say about “Secondary Worlds”). I think urban fantasy is a real-world modern-day setting where the magical/fantastic elements are an undercurrent that goes unrecognized by most outside the niche in which the protagonists exist. So, part of the deal with the subgenre involves explaining why these elements are visible to some and invisible to others. I think most traditional fantasy authors have to fight Tolkien every time they write, because his influence is so strong that it’s easy to accidentally set a story in Middle Earth. I’d say that urban fantasy writers generally have to do the same battle with White Wolf’s World of Darkness.

    My 3-Day novel this year was a vampire novel, which I perceive as one of the most popular types of urban fantasy. I had some design principles to my vampires–I wanted to make them gritty and reclaim their monstrous nature (nothing “sparkly” here).

  5. Wow, congratulations! I didn’t know about the 3-day novel either. Will you be revising it?

  6. Hi There! Yes, I do want to revise this, but I will probably leave it to sit for a few months before taking it on. Hope all’s well with you 🙂

  7. Pingback: Music and Writing « Words, Words, Words

  8. Hi there!

    Glad you like my music and that it helped you with your writing. Always nice to hear!

    Marvin
    🙂

  9. Wow, thanks for the comment. I’ve been thinking of titling the novel “Coming Clean” after your song.

Leave a comment