Single-Sentence Smackdown

Monkeybicycle has a collection of one-sentence stories for the month of June up on their site, which I enjoyed. My favorites are Dan Burt’s “Wet Anarchy” and Roxane Gay’s “Other People’s Children.” Normally I’d quote from them, but that would give the whole story away. Both are quirky and fun. They don’t take themselves too seriously, but I think both offer a real scrap of insight. Gay’s is funny-angry. After I finished laughing at Burt’s, I took a mental step back and got an image of an exhilarating, rules-breaking scene.

One response to “Single-Sentence Smackdown

  1. Erica, I just found your write-up about my one-sentence story. Thanks for the shout-out.

Leave a Reply

