Realms of Fantasy Is Not Dead

I thought it was–I’d heard earlier this year that the glossy fantasy magazine would close. I missed the news of its salvation, so I thought I’d share it with you, a few days before the next issue gets released.

I used to read both Realms of Fantasy and its sister publication, Science Fiction Age, back in the 90s. I was really sad when SF Age closed in 2000. Scott Edelman’s editorials for that magazine made a big impression on me–I’ve always particularly remembered one he wrote asking why, after growing up believing that the moon landing would lead to space travel for private individuals, that outcome seemed more distant than ever.

While I love the fantasy and SF digests, I was seduced by the glossy, full-color presentation of SF Age and ROF. I bought ROF’s first issue on the newsstand, and I vividly remember reading through it at the kitchen table, entranced by all that big art.

I totally sent my bad high school fiction to both of these magazines, so somewhere I’ve got collector’s rejection slips 😀

Tir Na Nog Press saved ROF from closure, buying the magazine and keeping both Shawna McCarthy and Doug Cohen on staff. The August issue will be available June 30. Subscriptions are available for $16.95/year (six issues) in the U.S. That doesn’t seem too much to ask to support one of the last glossy fiction mags around.

2 responses to “Realms of Fantasy Is Not Dead

  1. Great to hear of the salvation. Maybe due a rise in popularity of fantasy at the moment. I get the impression that some of those who have previously thought of fantasy as some lower form of literature are beginning to see the light.

    Thing is that good fantasy can encompass many different genres in the same book.

    Chris Warren
    Author and Freelance Writer
    Randolph’s Challenge, Book One-The Pendulum Swings

  2. Thanks for the comment, Chris. I hope you’re right about fantasy being taken more seriously, and I hope it applies to SF as well. I’d like to see both genres get more appreciation for their literary value. I’m encouraged by things like the Million Writers Award, which puts stories from all genres on equal footing.

Leave a Reply

