A Lone Star Fades

Really sad news. Lone Star Stories, one of my favorite webzines, is closing. I actually mark my interest in online fiction from my discovery of Lone Star.

Up until then, I’d only been aware of print literary magazines. When I discovered Lone Star, about three years ago now, I realized that there was really something happening online. Eric Marin says the site will stay up, thank God. There are 32 issues online there. There’s also the Lone Star Stories Reader, which can be purchased in a print edition or downloaded free.

Here are two of my favorites from Lone Star’s archives:

The Black Hole in Auntie Sutra’s Handbag” by Samantha Henderson

The Behold of the Eye” by Hal Duncan

I’m so sorry to see Lone Star go. Feel free to suggest other favorite stories in the comments.

Leave a Reply

