Million Writers Award Notable Stories

The StorySouth Million Writers Award Notable Stories of 2008 are up. Anyone who loves short stories should check out the list.

Last year, I wrote reviews of some of the top stories in the running. This year, I had the privilege of serving as a preliminary judge. Ten of the selections on the list are mine. I may decide to reveal which ones… 🙂

Reading through nominations to select my list was one of the most exhausting, harrowing, rewarding, and educational things I’ve ever done. I learned a lot about what makes fiction work for me, and also a lot about my own personal tastes. There were a frightening number of great stories nominated, and of great stories published online in general. In the end, I had to make a personal choice of ten stories that spoke to me the most.

I know I’m being general–it’s hard to get into specifics on this without getting very specific. I haven’t been too active on the blog lately, but I’d like to say a lot more about the stories I picked. In the meantime, read some of the stories on the list. I’d love to know what you think of them.

One response to “Million Writers Award Notable Stories

  1. Pingback: Million Writers Award Winners Announced « Words, Words, Words

Leave a Reply

