Long Time, No Blog

It’s been a really long time since I’ve posted, but I wanted to quickly mention that my story, “Home to Perfect,” is up on Every Day Fiction. To everyone coming in from that site, thanks so much for visiting.

6 responses to “Long Time, No Blog

  1. Erica – Great story today on EDF – really a home run.

    Jason

  2. Thanks so much!

  3. I gave your story a 5, Erica.

    Did you latch on to “Green Grass and High Tides” solely because of its Rock Band difficulty, or were you also aware of its lyrics?

  4. Deven, thanks so much for reading. “Green Grass and High Tides” itself was actually an important part of getting the story finished to my satisfaction. I originally wrote the story to use a difficult song from Guitar Hero, but that made the pieces of the story feel random. I switched to Rock Band, and “Green Grass and High Tides” for two reasons — one is the mood of the song itself (I was thinking more of mood than lyrics, but they’re certainly part of that), and the other is that I’ve played “Green Grass” repeatedly, and so felt more connected to it. It was sort of a weird change, since I don’t see how much it could have directly affected the words in the story, but I couldn’t revise the story to my satisfaction until I changed it that way.

  5. Loved your story. You hooked me right away and kept up a great pace. Well told!

  6. Thanks for reading, and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

