Done!

I just finished my draft for the 3-Day Novel Contest. It clocks in at 45,000 words, just about, and I’m happy with it. I didn’t get a chance to blog yesterday, which was unfortunate.

Yesterday was by far the hardest day. I was slogging through the middle and worrying a lot. One minute, I thought the story was great, and the next I thought it was lame. Yesterday, I did most of my writing at my sister’s house, which was great, because she fed me meals and helped pick me up off the floor when I got depressed. I quit at 1 a.m. when I started falling asleep mid-sentence, but much sooner than I’d hoped to quit. I made it through about 15,000 words.

Today, I had adrenaline working very much on my side. I wrote all day at Borders, in the coffeeshop where my husband works, starting at 9 am and ending just now.

It’s really way too early to know anything at all about my draft. I made it through 20,000 words today, which is pretty surreal. The middle was full of surprises, but I was able to steer the characters toward the ending I’d envisioned. I have three main characters, with three interlocking storylines, and that seems to have worked out OK. About 7 pm, I started wondering what the hell I thought I was doing. The idea of writing a novel in 3 days seemed insane and meaningless. Then I put one song on repeat on iTunes and powered through until I got to the end.

Whatever happens with the contest, I have a draft that I think will be workable for revision. I’m way stoked about getting it printed and mailed in the morning.

I don’t think I have many more coherent thoughts left. I’m about to pop over to visit the weaklings, and then call it a night.

2 responses to “Done!

  1. Congratulations on the draft! That’s quite an accomplishment in three days!

  2. Thanks so much for the kind words. I’m putting it down for a few weeks, and then I’ll crack it open and see if it is in fact workable for revision. I enjoy “stunt” writing like this, so I find this is a great way for me to get started on something.

Leave a Reply

